Butternut Squash Soup

I have never been good at making soup. Ever. And I mean… lets make butternut squash soup… and then it’s like eating plaster… or water. With no taste or an absolute nasty taste that not even my dog would eat. But!! I did it. I conquered soup. I poured a glass of wine, curled up in my most comfy sweats and savoured every last bite of this badass recipe.

I paired this with a Malbec. I know a popular choice would be a Chardonnay but I’m really not a fan. So I tried a Malbec and it worked well with the dark, really bold flavour!

Ingredients:
1 Butternut squash peeled and cubed
1 apple peeled and chopped
1/2 yellow onion chopped
2 medium carrots peeled and chopped
1/2 thumb of ginger minced
2 garlic cloves minced
2 tsp of butter
2 springs of sage
3 cups of vegetable broth
1/3 cup of heavy cream
Pepper and salt

Methods:
In a soup pot, put in the first 7 seven ingredients and cover. Cook on medium heat and stir once in awhile. Cook until the butternut squash starts to soften.

Remove the sage springs

Add in the broth and cover again. cook until all the vegetables are very soft.

Puree the mix and put back in the pot and on heat again. Stir in the cream, salt and pepper.

Serve.

Done! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

