Canned Homemade Applesauce

Applesauce is really great to have in the house for so many different reasons. I use applesauce in my baking, with different pork recipes, or just on its own. Homemade applesauce, without the added sugar and preservatives, is even better!  So my grandparents have lived in the same house for 53 years, it’s the best place for everything: grandmas cooking, having fun, building amazing memories, remembering amazing memories. That house is the heart of our family. This house shares space with an incredible apple tree which provides us with Sunset apples! So this year, my grandma gave me a massive bag of apples. So with that, you have the privilege of some awesome apple recipes in the near future and I have the privilege of making them! With this in mind, my first recipe: the applesauce. The foundation of apple recipes.

Ingredients:
5 lbs of apples
3 cups of water
( I don’t add sugar, I do afterwards, depending on the recipe)

Method:
Peel, core and roughly chop the apples.
Put all the apples in a pot, add the water, cook on medium heat, covered. Stir once in awhile and do this until the apples are mush. Using a hand-blender, blend apples.

Sterilize your jars and heat your lids in boiling water.  Add applesauce to your jars when hot and make sure to not get any on the rim of the jars. Put on your lids. Wait for them to cool to make sure they seal.

Done! Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Canned Homemade Applesauce

  1. This looks amazing 🙂 I especially love how you don’t use sugar, apples are so sweet themselves. I live in apple country so I’ll definitely be doing this one, thank you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

